Worshipper or Worship Leader?

Over the past few weeks Fr Mark and Sarah have challenged Sam and I to think more reflectively on our daily work, one of the things I’ve been focusing on is whether I am still a worshipper or now more of a worship leader? With participating in services, it can he harder to engage with God in the way I’ve always done before – so now I’m in a new role where I’m usually doing something in every service, the way I worship has had to alter slightly… here are some thoughts and reflections on discovering how to connect with God when I’m in a new role.

For the majority of my Christian life I have been an active worshipper, rarely leading from the front. For half of that journey I have been involved in audio visual work and have found myself at the back of the room, behind a computer or sound desk for most of the services I’ve attended. This challenged the way I worshipped as I couldn’t get so visibly lost in the time of sung worship, due to my commitment to the desk. I began to engage with God in a different way, using my gifts in audio visual work as worship itself. I worshipped through the gifts God has given to me.

In the Psalms, David is constantly worshipping God, through singing and dancing. Throughout the psalms David is worshipping, he is authentic in his worship, never hiding his emotions when he converses with God. Many psalms, such as psalm 13, 42 and 141 are petitions from David – he uses his worship and prayers as an opportunity to both glorify God but to all call on his name for help. Every part of David’s life was an act of worship, he brought everything before God. Worship is not just about singing songs to God but about using our whole life to bring glory to God and build his Kingdom on earth.

In his first letter to the church in Corinth, St Paul describes the church as being one body made up of many parts. He writes; ‘For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ. For in the one Spirit we were all baptized into one body—Jews or Greeks, slaves or free—and we were all made to drink of one Spirit.’ (1 Cor 12: 12-13) We are all created differently and all have different gifts, given to us by God, not all of us are called to be worship leaders, or preachers, or to serve refreshments after a service. God has created us all differently with different skills so when we all work together, no one is left out and our service can be more effective.

Now that I find myself in a role of participating in services from the front, I am having to learn again that we can and should worship God in different ways. Just as when I began working in the audio visual department, I need to learn to worship God in a different way, to worship him through serving the congregation and assisting in the services. If worship is our way of life and not just something we participate in on a Sunday morning, then perspective of how we worship God and understanding that worship comes from our heart and attitude towards God and his Church, should grow and our lives should become an intrinsic and authentic act of worship and praise.

Now, to God be the glory and all the honour.

Amy.

Leave a Reply

