Receive the Light

‘The unfolding of your words gives light’ – Psalm 119.130

Our Holy Father Benedict says ‘Let us open our eyes to the light that comes from God, and our ears to the voice from heaven that every day calls out this charge: If you hear his voice today, do not harden your hearts.’ We have a book, a manual on which to build our lives, the Bible. We have these words to listen to but we have so many other voices trying to drown out Gods word.

I don’t know if this was the same for you but growing up I found myself being influenced by what the media said a girl/woman should look and behave like. I found myself listening to adverts on tv, radio, in magazines. I listened to what my peers at school said, and I also listen to my parents. I had all these voices which were telling me how I should be, who I should be. So when I became a Christian at the age of 14 I found it difficult to listen to Gods voice instead of all these others. I still find myself falling back into that at times, often when I take my eyes off God. St. Benedict reminds us, ‘We must, then, prepare our hearts and bodies for the battle of holy obedience to his instructions.’ Do you, like me, find it difficult to hear Gods small voice amongst the noise and distractions of our society?

To be able to hear God, to see his light we must drown out the white noise around us. We have a book, the Bible, a manual for life, and it is this which opens our eyes and our ears to see Gods light and hear his voice. We have to find time in our busy lives to connect with God, to read the Scriptures and meditate on them. Do you read your Bible during the week? Do you make time for God in your life?

This mission week, drawing to a close, is hoped to have been a time for us all to tune into God, to get on the same wavelength as him. Tune out of the white noise of this world, the loud voices telling you who to be, what to do, where to go. Focus on Gods voice, what is he saying to you? Are you listening? To listen to God you must be equipped, tuned in. Read your Bible, spend time in prayer with God. Our relationship with God is like our relationships on earth, they are two way. There is a time for us to speak, and a time to listen. But how can we listen if we don’t know God or spend any time with him?

Jesus says ‘You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.’ (Matthew 5:14). We are all called by God to share the good news with others. These 40 days, or so, when we wait for Easter we walk through the wilderness with Jesus, facing temptation as we seek to draw closer to God. The white noise in our lives and the darkness of this world intensifies. Lent is not a time to be comfortable. This week, as we walk on the road to Emmaus, is not a time to be comfortable. Our lives are not times to be comfortable. God calls us to step out of our comfort zones in order to know him more. It is through this time of discovery, temptation and uncomfortableness we are refined by God through the reading, studying and meditation of his word and we become the light of the world.

Leave a Reply

